My Skincare Routine

I’ve recently moved to Egypt for college, and if there’s one thing I’ve learned from my 2-month stay here, it’s this: No matter how old you are, everyone needs a skincare routine. Now, I know when you’re in college, the last thing you can (or want to, for that matter) think about is skin care, but really, it’s the biggest investment you can ever make at this point.

Now, I’ve never really had bad skin (except for the occasional puberty breakouts), but ever since I came to Cairo, my normal-oily skin has been breaking out like crazy because of all the free radicals in the air (FOTD: The average resident of Cairo breathes in more than 20 times the acceptable level of air pollution every day according to WHO… I’m basically slowly choking on air here), so I’ve been frantically trying all kinds of products to help clear out and nourish my skin, and I think I’ve finally found something that genuinely works.

My Skincare Routine

The first thing I do is I wipe off all (or most) of the makeup and oils off my face with baby wipes. Yes, baby wipes. I personally love the Johnson-and-Johnson ones because they’re super affordable, they’re nourishing, they remove almost everything off my face, and hey, if they’re safe for a baby’s sensitive skin, they’re most definitely safe for yours.

I then follow up with a clarifying (and usually exfoliating) cleanser. Now I know that exfoliating almost everyday may sound a little harsh, but as someone with normal-oily and acne prone skin, I personally prefer cleansers that really dig down and clean out my pores. To keep things a bit more gentle on my face, I like to alternate between the St Ives Invigorating Apricot Facial Scrub and the Proactiv Skin Smoothing Exfoliator, which is a gentler option.

After cleansing, I like to go in with a little bit of rose water. Rose water acts as a natural toner, antioxidant, and anti-inflammatory and antibacterial agent, so really, there’s no reason to not use it. I like dabbing pure rosewater on my face with a cotton pad, but you can also put it in a spray bottle with an equal volume of water and just spray it on your face after cleansing.

The final step in my routine is my moisturizer, and this is the product I choose to spend the most money on. I’ve tried so many moisturizers in the past, and so far nothing’s worked as well as the Elizabeth Arden 24hr Perpetual Moisture Cream. This stuff is the holy grail of all moisturizers. It stops my skin from getting too oily throughout the day. It also doesn’t leave a greasy or sticky layer on my face, and it doesn’t leave my skin feeling dry the way moisturizers for oily skin tend to do (which always confuses me because aren’t moisturizers supposed to leave skin feeling moisturized?).  Seriously, if you’re planning on splurging on a good moisturizer, I highly recommend this one.

And that’s it for my skincare routine, What’s yours like? Do you have any skincare tips? Let me know in the comments below!!

3 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

  1. I am a skincare addict, and I have to say: You have done great to implement such a dedicated skincare routine to deal with the pollution.
    I would politely disagree about the Baby wipes being good for anyones skin (except baby´s bottoms) and would suggest investing in a non-foaming cleanser and an antioxidant rich serum despite an expensive moisturizer, but then again I am 36 and have a long history of skincare hits and misses, so maybe my approach would seem over the top to you.

    Linda, Libra, Loca: Beauty, Baby and Backpacking

    Like

  2. i dont exactly have a skin care routine but i love Clarins daily energizer cream its an actual blessing. Also try Clinque’s acne solutions cleansing foam bc I used to get breakouts every summer when i went to Egypt too but last summer I stuck to using it and I didnt get the usual heck (sorry i can only do formal blogspeak for too long) ALSO I LOVE ALL YOUR POSTS FATIDA IM PROUD OF YOU

    Like

  3. I have never used baby wipes on my face before. Does it fully remove makeup? You don’t need another cleanser?? I’ve been using the St. Ives scrub for years now, absolutely love it!! Great post, it’s so true that it’s worthwhile to invest a little bit and take care of your skin!

    xoxo Emily
    http://www.ditchtheheels.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

